Statement on the appointment of new Victoria Police Chief Commissioner

On behalf of the Victorian Liberal Nationals, we offer our congratulations to Deputy Commissioner Shane Patton who has been announced as the next Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police.

Deputy Commissioner Shane Patton will replace current Chief Commissioner Graham Ashton on June 26 2020, following the completion of his five year term and a career of over three decades of service with Victoria Police and the Australian Federal Police.

During Mr Ashton’s tenure he strengthened mental health support within Victoria Police and, more recently, led police during the 2019-20 Victorian bushfires. We wish him well for the future.

On behalf of the Liberal Nationals, we look forward to working constructively with the new Chief Commissioner to address a number of ongoing community safety challenges and build a safer Victoria.

Share this post